Timeline for Divorces in Michigan
As a family law attorney, one of the more common questions I get asked by new or potential clients is, “How long will it take to get a divorce?” The answer is not the same for every couple, and the final outcome is not always completely predictable. However, there are minimum requirements in the state of Michigan for a divorce in every instance.
For a married couple with minor children between the parties, the relevant law states that there is a 180 day (6-month) minimum from the time of filing to the date of entry. However, this timeframe is often “waivable,” or subject to exception, if the judge allows it. This means that if both parties have come to a complete agreement on all issues, the attorneys can ask the judge that the statutory minimum be “waived,” or excused, if waiving the 6-month waiting period is found to be in the best interest of the children. In any event, a divorce with minor children typically takes at least 4 months to complete, from start to finish.
If the parties are highly litigious, or extremely argumentative, a divorce may take much longer—possible many months, but in almost no event beyond a year due to the court’s dockets requirements.
For a divorcing couple without minor children, the process can be much shorter, as the minimum timeframe is only 60 days. This cannot be waived, however; in no event will a divorce in Michigan be completed in less than 2 months.
For anyone filing in the state of Michigan, the Plaintiff must have lived in the state for at least 6 months, and in the county of filing for at least 10 days. These are the minimum jurisdictional requirements for availing yourself of the court process in the Family Division of your Michigan Circuit Courts. Family Law attorneys at the Law Offices of Joumana Kayrouz file and complete divorces in Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb Counties regularly, so call us today for your free consultation should you have any questions about these or other important family law matters!